Conspirare – Chamber Music for Solo Flute
Liner Notes   Cat. No. NWCR867     Release Date: 2007-01-01

Patti Monson, flute

On this disc, Conspirare, Patti Monson reveals to us the astonishing flute world she has vividly created for our delight and edification. Each composition is a world unto itself, and each is made solely of the sounds of her flute (and piccolo, and alto flute).

"In this wind-blown world the flute is all and sovereign — it creates melody, harmony, polyphony, and ambience; it produces pure tones, microtones, multiphonics, and percussion (pitched and unpitched); it is digitally processed and digitally delayed. Each and every sound is created from the inexhaustible resources of Patti Monson’s remarkable musical imagination and technical mastery. It is a music of the spheres from the simplest source resounding!"  — Martin Bresnick

For centuries, composers have taken great joy in crafting works that include a second, third, or even fourth voice to be played, sung, spoken, or imagined by a solo instrumentalist in performance. To achieve this they have employed everything from implied counterpoint or harmony to multiphonics, extended vocal sounds, spoken text, or prerecorded parts. For my first solo CD I wanted to record works that reflect this fascination with a many-voiced solo line, and I have therefore subtitled this release “chamber music for solo flute.” — Patti Monson

This title, originally issued on the CRI label, is now available as a burn-on-demand CD (CD-R) or download in MP3/320, FLAC or WAV formats. CD-Rs come in a protective sleeve; no print booklet or jewel case included. Liner notes are accessible via the link above.

Patti Monson

Conspirare – Chamber Music for Solo Flute

MP3/320 $16.00
FLAC $16.00
WAV $16.00
CD-R $16.00
CD-Rs come in a protective sleeve; no print material or jewel case included.
A *.pdf of the notes may be accessed here free of charge.
   Liner Notes

Track Listing

Vermont Counterpoint
Steve Reich
Robert Dick
Harold Meltzer
Heaven of Animals
Harold Meltzer
Noa Noa
Kaija Saariaho
Jennifer Higdon
Martin Bresnick